Manna from Devon …

… or more precisely Bristol and the wonderful archive of work created by ‘Uncle’ Russell.

Russell is not, as far as I can see, my uncle in the blood sense of the word but nevertheless we have a great deal in common when it comes to the quest for all things Densham.

I cannot put into words the truly wonderful legacy that Uncle Russell left, suffice it to say that I was in my seventh heaven when, one wonderful June day, I was privileged to set eyes on the wealth of genealogical research he had done over a 30 year period.  Russell’s meticulous research, his attention to details and his thorough referencing are a lesson to even the most seasoned of researchers.

How on earth did I discover ‘Uncle’ Russell and how the devil was I so lucky to actually set my genealogical eyes on his unique legacy?

Well I, like many of my persuasion, have been given the annoying gifts of an inquisitive and tenacious nature, in others words ‘I’m like a dog with a bone’.  I suddenly had a eureka moment whilst contemplating, for what seemed like the thousandth time, a couple of my obscure Densham documents acquired over my 14 years of Densham research.

I took a leap of faith and was put in touch with the current custodian of ‘Uncle’ Russell’s papers and the rest, as they say, is history.

I am now currently awaiting my second viewing of the research and will keep you appraised of mine and ‘Uncle’ Russell’s progress.

21 July, 2013. Tags: , , . Family History.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

