Precious legacy given with love

My great grandmother’s watch was bequeathed to me in the will of my Granny, Doris Gill.

I first became acquainted with the watch when it was handed to me to take along to the Antiques Roadshow in March 1996 -”you never know it might be worth something” said Granny.

Unfortunately Geoffrey Munn was not impressed with my offering and asked who on earth had decided to clean it?  I said that I didn’t know.  He pointed out that someone had cleaned so hard that the numerals had come off of the face thus limiting its value to approximately £100.

I dutifully reported back to Granny, whom I think was a little disappointed.  However she soon recovered and sat me down and told me how it had been given to her mother Gertrude Harrison for her 21st birthday by her parents Eliza and Henry Harrison and so to her the watch was priceless.

It was at this point of the proceedings that Granny informed me that she would be leaving the watch to me in her will and asked if I wanted to know what else she had left me, I replied that “that was not my business Granny!” – she just laughed.  Looking back she wanted me to understand and appreciate how important this watch was to her and that it was a precious link her mother and that this link was to be passed down to me.

I’ve recently done a little research into the watch as I had forgotten all the wise words Geoffrey had spoken.  The watch was made by the French makers Guivre, in 18 carat gold.  The case is marked with Mercury, the French export small guarantee hallmark.  The case also bears the number 19170 which I believe indicates the case design.

Etched faintly on the inside rim of the case are a series of numbers ’26297 mk’ – I can only presume at the moment that this may be the mark of the watchmaker who assembled the watch or perhaps of the jeweller who sold the piece – who knows.

I’ve talked so much about my Granny in recent blogs that I feel I really ought to introduce her to you all properly – so with love I give you Doris Gill nee Star, my Granny.

3 January, 2012. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , . Family History.

7 Comments

  1. Virgina Lide replied:

    Wow, superb blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is magnificent, let alone the content!

    • familypast replied:

      Hi

      Thank you for your kind comments. No, I’ve not been blogging long and I’m afraid I don’t post as often as I would like.

      The layout is a template from WordPress – so I’m afraid I cannot take any credit for that.

      Best wishes,

      Louise

  2. diamond car insurance for women replied:

    I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you design this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz reply as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to know where u got this from. many thanks

    • familypast replied:

      Hi – thanks for your comments about my design. I’m afraid I cannot take any credit for how my blog looks, I use WordPress and this is one of their designs.

      I have found WordPress to be a very good hosting site.

      Good luck

      Louise

  3. compare car insurance rates nj replied:

    First off I would like to say excellent blog! I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you don’t mind. I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your head prior to writing. I have had a tough time clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out. I truly do take pleasure in writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are generally lost just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or tips? Many thanks!

    • familypast replied:

      Hi – Many thanks for your kind comments, they are much appreciated.

      You’re not on your own with the clearing thoughts process – I’m like most of the time.

      I spend a lot of time thinking about the theme of my posts and then write them up, I go back and change bits and bobs and reorder but I find just getting my first thoughts and ideas down helps a lot to focus my mind on what I’m writing about. I often leave the post for a little while and then return with fresh ideas and ideas about how to improve it.

      Hope this helps

      Louise

  4. konsultan seo replied:

    Hello there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok.
    I’m undoubtedly enjoying your blog and look forward
    to new posts.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 149 other followers

