Family Jewels – Granny’s Watch

Many apologies for not posting as frequently as I should – I have no excuses …

To compensate for my lax ways in my blogging duties I have decided to do a series of posts on the family jewels and the stories behind them …

There is no better person to start the series with than my Granny, Doris Star.  Here she is on the occasion of her Confirmation in 1926.

The photo was taken by her uncle Albert Train who had a photographic studio on Market Street, Sutton-in-Ashfield.

Doris’ dress was made by her mother, Gertrude Harrison (nee Hopkins, originally of Leighton Buzzard).

Doris’ watch was a gift from her mother to mark this important occasion.

Doris treasured and wore the watch for many years.

After her death in June 2010 I brought the watch home to photograph and Darren (my husband) managed to get it working again. It was lovely to hear the tick tick tick of the mechanism and to think that the last person to hear that sound was my Granny.

12 November, 2011. Tags: , , , , , , , . Family History.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 149 other followers

